Vinales grabs the final P1 in pre-season testing

0 36


Maverick Vinales concluded MotoGP’s pre-season testing
at the top of the timesheets on a night when Marc Marquez
crashed three times.

Vinales followed up his Saturday’s P1 with back-to-back fastest
lap times as he clocked a 1:54.330 around the Qatar circuit.

That put him 0.071s up on Andrea Dovizioso, who made a late
improvement on the Ducati, while Honda’s Dani Pedrosa was

Jorge Lorenzo finished the test in fourth place having been
leading up until the final two hours of running. 

The former World Champion, who has switched to Ducati from
Yamaha, trialled the Italian outfit’s new aerodynamic fairing
for the first time on Sunday.

Alvaro Bautista, one of the night’s early crashers, was fifth
quickest followed by Scott Redding, Jonas Folger and Cal
Crutchlow. The LCR Honda man was the final rider to get within
half a second of Vinales’ P1 time.

Tech 3 Yamaha’s Johann Zarco and Marquez completed the top ten
on Sunday.

It was trying day for the reigning MotoGP champ who was running
the RC213V’s new fairing for the first time as he crashed no
fewer than three times. Marquez’s best was 0.660s shy of
Vinales’ pace-setting time

1. Maverick Viñales Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)
2. Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 1m54.401s
3. Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m54.469s 0.139s
4. Jorge Lorenzo Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 1m54.519s
5. Alvaro Bautista Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP16)
1m54.714s 0.384s    
6. Scott Redding Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP16)
1m54.750s 0.420s
7. Jonas Folger Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m54.807s
8. Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m54.821s 0.491s
9. Johann Zarco Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m54.900s
10. Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m54.990s
11. Valentino Rossi Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1m55.185s
12. Andrea Iannone Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m55.284s
13. Karel Abraham Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP15)
1m55.333s 1.003s    
14. Alex Rins Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m55.362s
15. Aleix Espargaro Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m55.451s
16. Jack Miller Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)
1m55.455s 1.125s 
17. Loris Baz Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP15) 1m55.539s
18. Danilo Petrucci Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP17)
1m55.556s 1.226s    
19. Sam Lowes Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m56.167s
20. Tito Rabat Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m56.294s
21. Bradley Smith Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 1m56.351s
22. Pol Espargaro Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 1m56.471s
23. Mika Kallio KTM Test Rider (RC16) 1m56.891s 2.561s

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.